Skip to main content
comparisontoolspenny items

Updated October 2026

Scavenger AI Review (2026): Price, Coverage, Alternatives

Scavenger AI Review (2026): Price, Coverage, Alternatives

Is Scavenger AI legit?

Verdict (checked November 1, 2026): Yes, Scavenger is a real product run by a registered company, Scale Ventures LLC of Michigan, and it is not affiliated with Home Depot. It scans Home Depot only, within about 25 miles of one ZIP. The ZIP scan is free; the membership is paid and renews automatically, and its site no longer publishes the price (it was a 3-day trial, then $47 a month, on October 4). Refunds are case by case. No penny price is guaranteed, by Scavenger or anyone else.

Scavenger (scavenger.ai) is a Home Depot deal finder: enter a ZIP and it scans the Home Depot stores within 25 miles for penny items and clearance markdowns. The first scan is a free preview. After that it is a paid membership.

Scavenger’s own terms (last updated October 22, 2026) say penny prices are never guaranteed until honored at the register, and its help center says the register scan is the only proof of a penny price. That matters more than the tool. A penny item is one Home Depot has removed from its assortment, and it rings up at $0.01 only at the register. A store can refuse the sale. No finder can promise that an item will scan for a penny when you get there.

This review is built from Scavenger’s own published pages, first checked October 4, 2026 and re-checked November 1, 2026. We make Endless, a competing product, so we stick to what Scavenger says about itself and link the alternatives at the end.

Scavenger at a glance

What it doesScans Home Depot stores near a ZIP for $0.01 and clearance items
Retailers scannedHome Depot only
RadiusStores within about 25 miles
Free partFirst ZIP scan, no signup
Paid priceNot published on its site as of November 1, 2026 (October 4: 3-day trial, then $47 a month)
BillingWhop on the web, Apple App Store or Google Play in the apps
OperatorScale Ventures LLC, Michigan
Affiliated with Home DepotNo

How much does Scavenger cost?

The ZIP scan is free and needs no account. On October 4, 2026, Scavenger’s own “is Scavenger legit” page stated a free 3-day trial that then ran $47 a month, billed through Whop. By November 1 that page was gone and the site listed no price; its terms say the subscription renews automatically at the interval shown at purchase and that pricing may change. Confirm the price and trial terms at checkout before you pay.

For comparison, BrickSeek Premium is $19.99 a month, Endless plans start at $9.99 a month, and RebelSavings, Hidden Clearances and PennyCentral are free.

How to cancel Scavenger

On the web, Scavenger’s instructions are: log in at whop.com with your signup email, open your memberships, select Scavenger, and cancel. Cancel before the renewal date to stop the next charge. If you subscribed in the iOS or Android app, cancel in the App Store or Google Play subscription settings instead.

Its Trustpilot page still had a single review on November 1, 2026, one star, from a customer who said they were charged after cancelling. One review is not a pattern, but it is a reason to keep the cancellation confirmation email.

What Scavenger covers and what it does not

  • Covered by the scanner: Home Depot stores within roughly 25 miles of your ZIP.
  • Not scanned: every other retailer. Scavenger’s site has guides about Dollar General, Dollar Tree, Lowe’s, Walmart and Costco, and its coverage page says the scanner reads Home Depot inventories only.
  • Not stated: how often stores are rescanned, and how many stores are covered in total (still not stated on November 1, 2026).

Its blog covers the popular price-ending theory (.06 means six weeks to penny, .03 means three) and, to its credit, says Home Depot publishes no such schedule. Our scan data agrees: across the stores we scan, prices ending in .03 or .02 are only about 1% of Home Depot clearance prices, far too rare to be a working signal. What predicts a deeper cut is how far the price has already fallen and how long the item has sat there.

Scavenger alternatives

ToolRetailersPrice
ScavengerHome DepotFree preview, then a paid membership (price not published; $47/mo on Oct 4)
EndlessHome Depot (2,000+ stores) plus 15 other retailersFrom $9.99/mo; city pages free
RebelSavingsHome Depot, Lowe’s, Walmart, Walgreens, Tractor SupplyFree
PennyCentralHome Depot penny reportsFree
Hidden Clearances143 retailers listedFree account
BrickSeekWalmart, Target, Home Depot and moreFree Basic, $19.99/mo Premium

If you want the Home Depot penny list for free, PennyCentral publishes shopper-reported finds. Our penny list also shows shopper-reported penny finds and can sort them by distance from your ZIP.

If you want clearance near you without paying, RebelSavings searches by ZIP for free, and Endless has a free page for every city with its live clearance count, top markdowns and store addresses. See Home Depot clearance by city.

If you want alerts and history on specific stores, that is what Endless plans are for: save your stores, get an email when something drops, and see each item’s price history. The full comparison is in BrickSeek alternatives.

See Home Depot clearance in your city, free

Live counts, top markdowns and store addresses for every city we scan. No account, no trial.

Find your city

Plans with alerts and price history start at $9.99/mo.

Frequently Asked Questions

Is Scavenger AI free?

The first ZIP scan is free with no signup. Ongoing access is a paid membership. Its site stopped publishing the price by November 1, 2026; on October 4 it was a 3-day trial, then $47 a month.

Is Scavenger affiliated with Home Depot?

No. Scavenger states it is independent and not affiliated with or endorsed by The Home Depot. It is operated by Scale Ventures LLC.

Does Scavenger guarantee penny prices?

No. Scavenger says penny status is honored at store discretion and that it does not guarantee any price. Home Depot stores can refuse to sell an item that rings up at $0.01.

Does Scavenger work for Walmart, Lowe’s or Dollar General?

Not as a scanner. Scavenger’s scanner reads Home Depot only. Its site has written guides for other retailers.

What is a cheaper alternative to Scavenger?

RebelSavings and PennyCentral are free. Endless starts at $9.99 a month and lets you browse live Home Depot clearance by city without an account.